Call for Papers


The conference covers all aspects related to the development, assessment, operation and maintenance of safety-related and safety-critical computer systems. Topics include, but are not limited to:
  • Fault-tolerant and resilient hardware and software architectures and tools for all concerned topics;
  • Fault detection and recovery mechanisms;
  • Distributed and real-time monitoring and control;
  • Security and privacy protection mechanisms for safety applications;
  • Safety/security risk assessment;
  • Model-based analysis, design, and assessment;
  • Formal methods for verification, validation, and fault tolerance;
  • Probabilistic verification and validation;
  • In-the-loop and model-based testing;
  • Validation and verification methodologies;
  • Methods for qualification, assurance and certification;
  • Compositional verification and certification;
  • Architecture-driven assurance of safety and security;
  • Dependability analysis using simulation and experimental measurement;
  • Cyber-physical threats and vulnerability analysis;
  • Safety guidelines, standards and certification;
  • Safety and security interactions and tradeoffs;
  • Safety and security cases;
  • Multi-concern dependability assurance and standardization,
  • Industrial experience and case studies.
Domains of application include (but are not limited to):
  • Railways, automotive, space, avionics, nuclear and process industries;
  • Autonomous systems, advanced robotics, construction engines and off-road vehicles;
  • Telecommunication and networks;
  • Safety-related applications of smart systems and IoT (Internet of Things, Smart Anything Everywhere);
  • Critical infrastructures, smart grids, SCADA;
  • Medical devices and healthcare;
  • Defense, emergency & rescue;
  • Logistics, industrial automation, off-shore technology;
  • Education & training.


Cross and intra domain reuse of engineering and certification artefacts: challenges and opportunities

Important Dates

  • Workshop proposal submission: 5 February 2018
  • Full paper submission: 28 February 2018
    Deadline extension: Monday, March 12th (AoE)
  • Notification of acceptance: 7 May 2018
  • Camera-ready submission: 11 June 2018
  • Workshops: 18 September 2018
  • Conference: 19-21 September 2018

Workshops and Exhibition

It is planned to have one day for workshops. Workshop proposals are welcome. The proposals must be sent by email to the SAFECOMP 2018 Workshop Chair ( They should include planned scope and contents, Program Committee, and duration (one full or half day). Inclusion in the SAFECOMP Workshop Proceedings are planned, provided that a proper reviewing process is implemented. A dedicated space will be available for a Technical Exhibition in the area where coffee breaks and lunches take place. Organizations wishing to present their products or projects are invited to request further information from the conference secretariat.

Submission Guidelines

The tradition of SAFECOMP is to act as a platform for bringing academic research and industrial needs together. Therefore, industrial contributions and real-world experience reports are explicitly invited. We solicit two types of papers:
  1. regular papers (up to 14 pages),
  2. practical experience reports and tool reports (up to 8 pages)

Papers exceeding the page limit will be excluded from the review process. All papers will be reviewed by at least three program committee members. Papers must not have been previously published or concurrently submitted elsewhere.

Conference Proceedings & Journal Special Issue

All accepted papers will be published by Springer in the LNCS series (Lecture Notes on Computer Science). Submitted papers must conform to Springer LNCS author guidelines ( In addition, extended versions of the best papers will be considered for publication in a special issue of a safety-related international journal.



  • Francesca Saglietti (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE)

General Chair and Program Co-Chairs

  • Barbara Gallina (MDH, SE)
  • Amund Skavhaug (NTNU, NO)

Publication Chair

  • Friedemann Bitsch (Thales, DE)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Malin Rosqvist (MDH, SE), Co-local Chair
  • Irfan Sljivo (MDH, SE), Web and Co-local Chair
  • Lena Jonsson (MDH, SE), Financial Chair
  • Gunnar Widforss (MDH, SE), Industry-Liaison Chair

Workshop Chair

  • Erwin Schoitsch (AIT, AT)

Publicity Chair

  • Alec Dorling (Impronova, SE)

Fast Abstracts Chair

  • Jérémie Guiochet (LAAS, FR)

International Program Committee

  • Uwe Becker (DE)
  • Peter Bishop (UK)
  • Friedemann Bitsch (DE)
  • Robin Bloomfield (UK)
  • Sandro Bologna (IT)
  • Andrea Bondavalli (IT)
  • Jens Braband (DE)
  • Anna Carlsson (SE)
  • António Casimiro (PT)
  • Peter Daniel (UK)
  • Ewen Denney (US)
  • Felicita Di Giandomenico (IT)
  • Wolfgang Ehrenberger (DE)
  • Massimo Felici (BE)
  • Uma Ferrell (US)
  • Francesco Flammini (IT)
  • Barbara Gallina (SE)
  • Ilir Gashi (UK)
  • Janusz Gorski (PL)
  • Jérémie Guiochet (FR)
  • Maritta Heisel (DE)
  • Chris Johnson (UK)
  • Bernhard Kaiser (DE)
  • Karama Kanoun (FR)
  • Johan Karlsson (SE)
  • Philip Koopman (US)
  • Floor Koornneef (NL)
  • Timo Latvala (FI)
  • Bev Littlewood (UK)
  • Silvia Mazzini (IT)
  • John McDermid (UK)
  • Frank Ortmeier (DE)
  • Philippe Palanque (FR)
  • Michael Paulitsch (AT)
  • Holger Pfeifer (DE)
  • Thomas Pfeiffenberger (AT)
  • Peter Popov (UK)
  • Laurent Rioux (FR)
  • Alexander Romanovsky (UK)
  • John Rushby (US)
  • Francesca Saglietti (DE)
  • Christoph Schmitz (CH)
  • Erwin Schoitsch (AT)
  • Christel Seguin (FR)
  • Amund Skavhaug (NO)
  • Mark-Alexander Sujan (UK)
  • Pieter van Gelder (NL)
  • Jonny Vinter (SE)
  • Kenji Taguchi (JP)
  • Stefano Tonetta (IT)
  • Fredrik Törner (SE)
  • Martin Törngren (SE)
  • Mario Trapp (DE)
  • Elena Troubitsyna (FI)
  • Marcel Verhoef (NL)
  • Helene Waeselynck (FR)